My favourite book: The Shipping News by Annie Proulx

Kim has volunteered at the festival
Kim has volunteered at the festival

Kim has been volunteering at the festival, and helping out with some of the practicalities: including serving up a delicious lunch of homemade cottage pie. She’s currently reading The Shipping News by Annie Proulx. “It was recommended by a friend and unlike me, I’ve read it on a Kindle. Normally I’m a fan of the old-fashioned book! I’m loving the unusual style of her writing; beautiful evocative words in short-clipped sentences. A bit like the shipping forecast – it gives it such an immediacy.
“I’m only half-way through and I’ve got lots of questions about the plot and waiting for it to unfold. I’m looking forward to seeing how the story pans out!”

Words and picture: Jay Armstrong

Leave a Reply

